Navratri and Navdurga Significance

Navratri (meaning the Nine Nights) is an Indian festival which celebrates and honors the divine feminism with great zeal and exuberance . Devotees worship and fast to please Goddess Durga. Navratri is celebrated in different parts of India with different traditions. In Maharashtra, Ghat (घट) is established, which is a like a basket in which soil is added and different types of seeds are sown. These seeds grow well in these nine days of Navratri and then they are offered to the Goddess. As India is an “Agricultural” land, devotees especially, farmers seek her blessings for having a good harvest. Navratri usually comes in the months of September / October which is usually Autumn season and is associated with harvest.

Navratri is a nine days long festival which ends with Dussehra or Vijayadashmi. It is said that Goddess Durga killed the demon Mahishasur after a nine days long fight. It is also believed that Lord Ram avenged Ravana on the day of Vijayadashmi. Thus, this festival celebrates the victory of the “Good Virtue” over evil powers.

Navratri celebrates nine forms of Goddess Durga, where each day is assigned for her one avatar.

Day 1

On the first day of Navratri “Goddess Shailputri” is worshiped. Shailputri means daughter of the mountain Himayalaya. Know more about Navratri and the legend behind the Navdurga avartar in my videos.

Day 2

On the second day of Navratri “Goddess Bramhacharini” is worshipped. The Goddess Parvati undergoes serve austerity for thousands of years to attain Lord Shiva as her husband. Know more about this avatar of Navdurga in my videos below.

Day 3

On the third day of Navratri “Goddess Chandraghanta” is worshipped. She is symbolized as a powerful warrior Goddess.

Day 4

On the fourth day of Navratri “Goddess Kushmanda” is worshipped. She is believed to the creator of universe. Know more about these avatars of Navdurga in my videos below.

Day 5

On the fifth day of Navratri “Goddess Skandmata” is worshipped. Skandmata celebrates the motherly instincts of every woman.

Day 6

On the sixth day of Navratri “Goddess Katyayani” is worshipped. She is a brave warrior Goddess.

Day 7

On the seventh day of Navratri “Goddess Kaalratri” is worshipped. Kaalratri often known as Kaali is a fierce form of Goddess who’s mere sight can scare the demons away!

Day 8

On the eight day of Navratri “Goddess Mahagauri” is worshipped. This day is also celebrated as “Durga Asthami”. She is the beautiful Goddess who has the glow of pearls on her face. She symbolizes purity and serenity.

Day 9

On the nineth day of Navratri, Goddess Shiddhidatri is worshiped. She is believed to bestow supernatural powers to her devotees.

These nine days of pure worshipping of Maa Durga a symbol of Shakti. People throughout different parts of country end their nine days fast on either Navami or Dusshera by worshiping young girls and feeding them with the food which is often offered to Goddess Durga.

I hope my blog and videos surely shed a light on the pious and strong belief that we bestow in the symbol of Shakti and as we worship her religiously with all our mind and heart.

या देवी सर्वभूतेषु शक्ति-रूपेण संस्थिता। नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नमः

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: